The Official Shorty Awards Blog

Announcing the 3rd Annual Shorty Awards Finalists!

We are delighted to announce the Shorty Awards finalists in the main categories after receiving over 750,000 tweeted nominations.

The Real-Time Academy of Short Form Arts & Sciences will determine the winners from among these finalists. The announcement will be made at the Shorty Awards Ceremony on Monday, March 28th, 2011 at The TimesCenter in New York City. Tickets are on sale now. Are you a finalist? Register here to let us know if you can attend the ceremony.

Categories still accepting nominations include Real-Time Photo of the Year, Foursquare Mayor of the Year, Foursquare Location of the Year, Microblog of the Year on Tumblr and the Connecting People Award sponsored by Nokia. In addition, late entries for the Shorty Industry Awards, honoring the industry’s best agencies, brands and social media leaders, will be accepted through February 25th, 2011.

The finalists are: 

Actor: Nathan Fillion @NathanFillion, Ian Somerhalder @iansomerhalder, Munro Chambers @The_Munro, Misha Collins @mishacollins, Neil Patrick Harris @ActuallyNPH, Chris Colfer @chriscolfer

Actress: Angel Locsin @143redangel, Stana Katic @Stana_Katic, Nina Dobrev @ninadobrev, Zendaya Coleman @Zendaya96, Erin Sanders @ErinZariah, Rachel Hershorn @rachelhershorn

Apps: COLOURlovers @colourlovers, Who Unfollowed Me @whounfollowedme, Twaitter @Twaitter, Agency News Network @annDigest, Codeorama @Codeorama, mr. unfollowr @unfollowr

Art: Project DOG @ProjectDOG, Lar deSouza @lartist, Alice Arnold @alicearnold1, One Stop Poetry @Onestoppoetry, Alfonso Mtz Campos @Ponchote, Andrew Wheeler @automotophoto

Author: Dewa Klasik Alexander @KamarSolusi, Shawn S. @TreatWomenRight, John Green @realjohngreen, Sergio E. Avilés @seraviles, J K Rowling @jk_rowling, Kyell Gold @KyellGold

Celebrity: Kim jae joong @mjjeje, Justin Bieber @justinbieber, 희님 @Heedictator, Niall Horan @NiallOfficial, Selena Gomez @selenagomez, Jay Bum Park @JAYBUMAOM

Charity: The Trevor Project @TrevorProject, Justin Bieber @justinbieber, Echelon House @TheEchelonHouse, PSU Dance Marathon @THON, CharLaurEmSydCas @BiebsmeetHayley, To Write Love on Her Arms @TWLOHA

Cultural Institution: Culture Vulturess @culturevultures, Tyneside Cinema @tynesidecinema, Liverpool FC LFC @LFCTV, Science Gallery @ScienceGallery, IndieInk @indieink, RB quotes @RonnieBquotes

Customer Service: Zain Jordan @ZainJo, Research In Motion @BlackBerryHelp, SquareTrade @SquareTrade, Media Temple @mediatemple, Xbox Support @XboxSupport, @Zappos_Service

Design: Falcão @brega_falcao, Codeorama @Codeorama, Justin Bieber Fan@JBieberBoy94, Gleidson Gouvêa @gleidsons, Kathleen DeCosmo @katiesheadesign, Shawn S. @TreatWomenRight

Entertainment: 6002 @6002theMicky, Greg F. @iRespectFemales, Barney Stinson @Broslife,Teen Things @TeenThings, Soshified @soshified, Toby Turner @TobyTurner

Fashion: Harry styles @Harry_Styles, Caitlin Beadles @godsgirl8494, Kim jae joong @mjjeje, Nataly @natalyestefania, Ann Li @thisisAnnLi, Ivete Sangalo @ivetesangalo

Finance: The Dave Ramsey Show @ramseyshow, Ashraf Laidi @alaidi, George Dagher @DagherGeorge, Slow Money @SlowMoney, Penny Golightly @PennyGolightly, BitterWallet @bitterwallet

Food: Epic Meal Time @EpicMealTime, BieberBucks Coffee @Bieberbucks, Luiz Caropreso @luizcaro, Bitchin’ Kitchen @bitchinkitchen, Ruth Bourdain @RuthBourdain, Jamur Kriuk Eyang @JamurKriukEyang

Gaming: Adam Montoya @SeaNanners, Sean Plott @day9tv, Totalbiscuit @Totalbiscuit, The Sims 3 @TheSims3, ExtraCreditTeam @ExtraCreditz, Mike Husky @HuskyStarcraft

Government: John Moore @JohnFMoore, Barack Obama @BarackObama, Vilassar de Mar @vilassardemar, Cory Booker @CoryBooker, Eric Cantor @GOPLeader, Lord Credo @Lord_Credo

Green: Waylon Lewis @elephantjournal, Mud Baron @Cocoxochitl, Hank Green @hankgreen, Nadya Hutagalung @Nadya_HutaGalng, Pure Natural Diva @PureNaturalDiva, Greenpeace USA @greenpeaceusa

Humor: Louis Tomlinson @Louis_Tomlinson, Christian Beadles @LittlecBeadles, The Dark Lord @Lord_Voldemort7, MR.Jamie @iJever, Epic Tweets @EpicTweets, Hugo Gloss @HugoGloss

Innovation: AD Lane @indywoodFILMS, Rene Silva Santos @Rene_Silva_RJ, Harry styles @Harry_Styles, Vincenzo Scipioni @UnseeingEyes, Frank Adman @FrankAdman, 雅-MIYAVI- @MIYAVI_OFFICIAL

Journalist: Flávio Fachel @flaviofachel, West Wing Report @WestWingReport, William Bonner @realwbonner, Jenni Hogan @jennihogan, Who? What? Why? @fleetstreetfox, Daniel Razon @DanielRazon

Music: One Direction @onedirection, Jonas Brothers @JonasBrothers, Justin Bieber @justinbieber, 김준수 @0101xiahtic, Britney Spears @britneyspears, Nick Brown @IamNickBrown

News: Lei Seca RJ @LeiSecaRJ, The Young Turks @TheYoungTurks, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution @ajc, Ivete Mania Club @IveteManiaClub, Korean Updates @KoreanUpdates, HipHopDX @HipHopDX

Politics: Dusty Trice @DustyTrice, Marina Silva @silva_marina, Ray Beckerman @RayBeckerman, DC Debbie @DCdebbie, The Bloggess @TheBloggess, Moron Watch @moronwatch

Science: MythBusters @MythBusters, Virtual Astronomer @VirtualAstro, Michio Kaku @MichioKaku, NASA @NASA, Scientific American @sciam, Paolo Nespoli @astro_paolo

Social Media Expert: Shay Carl @shaycarl, Dewa Klasik Alexander @KamarSolusi, Facts About Boys @FactsAboutBoys, 희님 @Heedictator, Devon Wordlaw @Darkskin, Karen Civil@KarenCivil

Sports: Empire of the Kop @empireofthekop, Arthur Muhlenberg @urublog, Mister Chip @2010MisterChip, barcastuff @barcastuff, Opta Sports @OptaJoe, New Orleans Saints @Official_Saints

Tech: SoldierKnowsBest @SoldierKnowBest, José Elías @twitteliax, Rosana Hermann @rosana, Jaamit Durrani @jaamit, Hipolito Delgado @hipolitodelgado, Chris Luzader @TechZader

Television: Attack of the Show @aots, Kurt Sutter @sutterink, Brother Eli Soriano @BroEliSoriano, HIMYM Production @himymprod, Psych @Psych_USA, Sesame Street @sesamestreet

Travel: Charles Trippy @CharlesTrippy, Evelyn Hannon @Journeywoman, JD Andrews@earthXplorer, Columbia, SC @columbiasc, I LOVE NEW YORK @I_LOVE_NY, Alex and Luke @alexandluke

Weird: Maureen Johnson @maureenjohnson, Alli Speed @allispeed, Fail Whale @failwhalequotes, OMG, I do this too! @omgidothistoo, Sweaty Ghost Comedy @sweatyghost, Bob Tzu @duhism

Congratulations to all Shorty Awards finalists!

Comments (View)
blog comments powered by Disqus
February 15, 2011